Please show your support for Jonathan Wall

Posted on June 20, 2012

0


 I wanted to share this with readers who may not be aware:

“My name is Jonathan Wall, and I am a 21 year old black male from Raleigh, NC. I was born and raised here, and just a few weeks ago I graduated from Morehouse College in Atlanta, GA. This fall I’ll be headed to grad school at Harvard to get a Master’s degree in Education Policy and Management. I’m in Raleigh for the summer before heading off to grad school.

As the story begins, on last Saturday night around 12:30am, I and 2 other friends went to Downtown Sports Bar and Grill off of Glennwood Avenue. The night got interesting as soon as we got to the door, and the bouncer told us “you need a membership to come in tonight, I’ve never seen you here before.” My friend Chris and I looked at each other in curiosity, knowing that the establishment was a bar and not a club, and that people in line before us walked right in after showing their ID. The only difference between those people and my friends and I was our race. Still, we stood at the door in bewilderment asking “What?” as he further tried to explain that we weren’t going to be able to come in because of our “non-member” status. However, as he was explaining this, a police officer walked up to where he was standing to tell him something unrelated. As soon as he caught sight of the officer beside him, he said “Never mind, y’all go ahead.” This was the first interesting ordeal of the night, but not the last . . . “

Link:

http://philipchristman.com/2012/06/18/a-friend-of-mine-gets-booted-out-of-downtown-sports-bar-raleigh-nc-for-being-black-because-this-is-1960-apparently/

 

 

This type of thing happens much too frequently in America. I read my stats, I know I get a number of readers worldwide, so I’d like you to take note of this. Because it’s just another example of why The Help was simply a skewed, caricature filled fluff of a fantasy, putting the Mammy trope on a pedestal while demeaning and negatively labeling the black male. In essence, throwing him under the bus in a highly offensive and insulting manner in order to pretend a “sisterhood” existed between the very people who oppressed both black males and black females, especially those who believed and benefitted from segregation. The revisionist fad both publishing and movie studios seem to be on in order to have a “feel good” product must be challenged. Just like this affront to Mr. Jonathan Wall.  

 

Please click the link and read the blog post, as well as the comments section. Especially if you tend to think this type of treatment is just an anomaly. No, this is America. Old habits die hard.

But thankfully people of all ethnicities and racial groups recognize this type of thing is just plain wrong and are trying to do something about it. Please add your voice.

 

And please show your support for Jonathan Wall’s boycott facebook page  here.

Oh, and  please, PLEASE don’t patronize the Downtown Sports Bar and Grill in Raleigh, NC:

The Downtown Sports Bar and Grill in Raleigh, North Carolina’s not so subtle profiling of customers.

Posted in: Blog