Viola Davis, I love you but . . .

Posted on June 28, 2011

2


Viola Davis, have I told you what a marvelous actress you are?

Well, I hope The Help movie realizes just what a life saver you are, because I think you, and not Emma Stone will be the one to make the film of Stockett’s controversial novel successful. And I truly adore Emma, as many others do who recognize what a talent she is.

But this post is about you. You and all your glorious little facial twitches and heartwrenching emotions that pour out of those soulful brown eyes.

I think you’re beautiful and talented and so deserving of the accolades that will come your way for your portrayal of Aibileen Clark. And if anyone isn’t won over by the time the movie is over, I have a few screen shots of the scenes that I think will melt the coldest heart.

This is what will do it:

Love knows no color

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And this:

Viola Davis should win an Oscar for this

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  
 
 
 
And especially this:
 

Viola does it best showing just how much of a toll segregation took on us all

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
But as much as I adore you Viola, I just can’t go view the film.
 
You see, I’ve taken the red pill.
 

Morpheus, I chose the red pill and now I can't go back. Need another pill to stop the anger.

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“You take the blue pill – the story ends, you wake up in your bed and believe whatever you want to believe. You take the red pill – you stay in Wonderland and I show you how deep the rabbit-hole goes.”

 

 As Morpheus warned in The Matrix, I went down the rabbit hole and I know. I KNOW. I can’t be re-inserted in the Matrix, or pretend I didn’t read what revulsed me in Kathryn Stockett’s bestseller.

But I’ll be rooting for you come Oscar time. You know how we do. I ain’t mad at cha because we (African Americans, or for that matter any minority) don’t call the shots in Hollywood. And we didn’t have any control over the novel getting as big as it got.

But I do have control over my pocketbook and whether or not I want to contribute any more of my hard earned funds into Stockett’s pocket, and those who gave the go ahead to the film without addressing the issues in the novel, as if it didn’t matter. 

Because the movie will “fix” things. The movie isn’t the book.
 
Maybe. Only I still have the book as a reminder  of why I can’t go see you in this role, on the big screen. . .  
 
 

Based on the sensational-LY FLAWED bestseller

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The Help Movie Poster. Where'd the birdies go?

                         

Pay no attention to this cover. It's just a marketing ploy. So which bird is Aibileen?

 
 
 
 

UK Cover of the Help AKA The cover they dared not put on US bookshelves

Posted in: Blog